Saturday, June 14, 2014



Vorteies by Janine Caldwell

Deuce Synopsis:

In an instant everything changes for seventeen-year-old Cassie Moore. Together she and her time-traveling boyfriend, Trent Astor, battle to survive their next impossible challenge. As they navigate through a third parallel world in which Cassie begged Trent to create for her, the two soon discover that no world can be made perfect.

And while they fight through their new circumstances, the universe may just have its own agenda for them both.

Meanwhile, it seems Trent and his sister, Lorelai, will never be safe from the greedy world and its hunger for Trent's power. A new force threatens to destroy the anonymity Trent has fought for his entire life unless he can stop this new opposition first. But every choice has a consequence, and Trent is faced with the most difficult choice of his life.

Set in contemporary Northern California, The Vortex Series is a teen romance for those who also enjoy a bit of science fiction and fantasy. Told in two perspectives, we get an intimate view of both Cassie and Trent’s worlds. Family relationships, how they interconnect and drive our personalities, is the heart and soul of this YA time traveling novel.





Rematch:
Trent Astor is many things—orphan, runaway, musician. But what’s most extraordinary about Trent is that he’s a time traveler. His supernatural gift sends him on missions to the past to save unsuspecting victims from harm. However, when he failwes to save the life of a young girl, his life changes in ways he could never have dreamed.

At eleven-years-old, Cassie Moore suffered through a horrific shooting. Tragically scarred from the ordeal, the once promising tennis prodigy was forced to throw away all hope of a future in tennis. Now, as she begins her senior year of high school, the past continues to haunt her. She struggles to find herself, her self-esteem at an all time low. If only she could resolve the past, she might be able to move on with her life. She never imagined that could be possible until she meets the gorgeous new student in her PE class.


 My review here.




Double Fault:

DOUBLE FAULT is the 2nd book in The Vortex Series where Cassie and Trent’s problems have only just begun. As they fight through the repercussions of creating a parallel world, other dangers are lurking. After years of running, Trent and his orphaned sister, Lorelai, sense the dangerous and power-hungry Dr. Fox is close to discovering their whereabouts.

While Cassie fears for Trent’s life, her tennis career hangs in the balance. Caught between her old and new life, she watches her world slowly crumble until it’s a tragic portrayal of all that she used to know. But worse yet, if her secret is revealed, she might lose what’s most dear to her heart.


 My review here.


 
Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble


AUTHOR BIO

Janine lives in Anthem, AZ with her husband and two sons. When she’s not trying to stay cool, she’s playing tennis, practicing yoga, banging on the drums, or reading. As a lifelong literature fanatic, she knew it was only a matter of time before she would become obsessed with writing her own work. With relatives like the Brothers Grimm and Anita Loos (Gentlemen Prefer Blondes), she hopes fantasy writing is in her DNA.

Books published by Janine include Visited, a YA coming-of-age fantasy, and The Vortex Series–Rematch, Double Fault, and Deuce.
p
Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter




Follow the tour and enter the giveaways below! 


GIVEAWAYS


 Individual giveaways:
one (1) ebook copy of Deuce
Open internationally

 
  Tour wide giveaway
Open INTL
Complete set of the Vortex series, signed


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tuesday, June 10, 2014


Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Release date: June 17th 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Purchase: Amazon
Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.
WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK








Follow the tour and enter the giveaway below!


GIVEAWAY


-Wolfie

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Sunday, June 1, 2014



Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best. 

Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain. 


Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.


The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me. 


I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. 


My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

 

 

 

Original Review

Original Rating: 4 stars



Review


I had decided to reread this book closer to the release of the second book. My plans were somewhat foiled by a DM from the authors themselves when they asked me if I wanted to review their new version of the book. I couldn't help but jump on the opportunity!


I first read this book back in January as a part of my Mission: Impossible week. Getting back into it was mostly familiar, but some parts were foreign to me. The plot was basically the same, but there were some details I just didn't remember. (Whether those were the added/changed parts is hard for me to say because I really don't remember.)

Sadly, this book annoyed me a bit more than last time. In my original review I mentioned how much I liked Lexi. And I still do. But sometimes she got on my nerves. Mostly because it occurred to me how stupid she was being, whereas last time I was in pain along with her. If that puts you off, too, DON'T GIVE UP. She's great in the beginning and she's great in the end. Yeah, she's stupid. But at least she has some redeeming qualities. She's brave and tough and determined.

Rereading about her friendship with Alyssa was by far my favorite part. Alyssa is in such a small part of the book, but somehow she affects the rest of it in such a deep way... It was great. I fell in love with her so much quicker, probably because I knew her attitude was totally a defense mechanism. But still.


And what's a review of Branded without Cole? Not a review of Branded, that's what. I don't know why, but it seemed like the romance was less obvious in the reread than in the first time I read it. I mean, it's still obvious. And I obviously knew what would happen. But I found the pacing to be just right, especially where Lexi and Cole were involved. I think it was Zeus that kind of made the romance seem slower. But anyways!

Overall, rereading it was just as great as the first time. I can't pinpoint exactly what changed, but I liked it nonetheless. I am definitely on the lookout for the next book. Until then, I shall buy the paperback!


Rating: 4 stars



Recommendation: for anybody who needs a new dystopian

Purchase

 

 

About Abi and Missy

Abi and Missy met in the summer of 1999 at college orientation and have been best friends ever since. After college, they added jobs, husbands and kids to their lives, but they still found time for their friendship. Instead of hanging out on weekends, they went to dinner once a month and reviewed books. What started out as an enjoyable hobby has now become an incredible adventure.


-Wolfie

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
© 2012. Design by Main-Blogger - Blogger Template and Blogging Stuff